• Oundle Festival of Literature
  • Oundle Bridge
  • Oundle Sunset
  • Oundle Countryside
  • Oundle Information
  • Oundle Events
  • Oundle
  • Oundle Town View
  • North Street Oundle

Peter Murphy talks about his new book A Higher Duty

19th April 2013
Time: 19.45

St Peter's Church, Oundle

Peter Murphy was born in 1946. After graduating from Cambridge University he spent a career in the law, as an advocate and teacher, both in England and the United States. His legal work included a number of years in The Hague as defence counsel at the Yugoslavian War Crimes Tribunal. He lives with his wife, Chris, in Cambridgeshire.

A Higher Duty is the first in an exciting new series set in 1960s London, detailing the prejudice and scandals of working at the Bar at this time – his own experiences obviously adding greatly to the atmosphere and accuracy of the book. His work has been compared to the BBC drama Silk.

A compelling and disturbing tale of law courts, lawyers and their clients set in sixties London. Four barristers in two fiercely competitive chambers represent the opposing sides of a bitter divorce. Intrigue, hypocrisy, blackmail and long concealed murder result in a deadly game of double bluff.

Peter Murphy’s debut novel Removal (No Exit Press) was published June 2012, with the American rights sold immediately. For fans of Silk, Rumpole of the Bailey, and Kavanagh QC this event is a rare treat.

* This event is kindly sponsored by VSH Law *